Doomshine – The Piper at the Gates of Doom(2010)

If you heard the band’s debut over seven years ago then probably (like me) you must have been waiting for this release like crazy! Although, I don’t really like tags, Doomshine plays what is best known as “Epic-Doom” and they do it so “by the book” that they could have been included in the definition of the term. “Piper at the gates of Doom” has everything a fan of the specific genre might ask. Classically slow doom tempos, and extra bass sound and epic atmosphere! Really epic. Even without any keyboards, special battle effects, or narration by some old movie star the 4 piece manages to deliver majestic epic moments with characteristic ease. I don’t know how they do it. The just do. Here, we should stand at the excellent vocals of Tim Holz, who is able to move in high and low scales without problem. The vocals is what steals the show but the rest of the band does excellent work too. You will not find any bad songs here although most of them look as if they have been stretched in duration just to sound more “epic”. What I didn’t enjoy in this particular release is the overpolished production which might be more appropriate for a power /progressive metal release than a doom one! Perhaps the band tries to point to a future direction in this way, in any case the hybrid in this area doesn’t do much for me. The cover art might also fit better to a power metal band signed with nuclear blast or something! Another point that I didn’t like is that the album doesn’t rely on memorable doomy riffs! To tell you the truth after several hearings I wasn’t able to remember a single guitar riff. For me only the times where the band breaks the monotony of simplistic guitar riffs with cool lead sections manages to do something. Therefore, “River of January” and “Waltzhala” are my personal favorites. In the end I think that heavy metal fans and fans of Solitute Aeternus will enjoy this album more but it seems to me unlikely that they will find it great, or something to remember beyond the year of 2010. I thinks it’s something any doom fan should listen at least a couple of times so catch them on their myspace page or on youtube.

Leave a comment